top of page
Search
  • laurenanderson0

OpEd: White Liberal Social Media in the Wake George Floyd's Murder

Updated: Jun 2, 2020

During times of severe pushback against societal injustice, social media becomes a platform where people go to express their support or opposition towards such movements. Social media can act as an additional component of the justice system, making sure that individuals or groups who participate in acts of violence and injustice are exposed, that they are fired from their jobs, and that their names are known and earn a negative association. Yet just like America’s actual justice system, social media also often perpetuates racism and a false ideal that one is actually fighting for and impacting a cause.


This past week, I have been non-stop scrolling through my Instagram feed and tapping through Snapchat stories, many of which regard the murder of George Floyd. A significant portion of people I follow are just like me, white and liberal.


I see posts about police brutality, black people getting senselessly beaten and murdered. I wonder if the people posting realize that they’re subjecting their black followers to footage of violent acts against other black people.


I see posts with paragraphs about how ashamed or embarrassed people are to be white and to have the privilege they do. I wonder if they realize that they are making this about themselves, when the focus should be on George Floyd and the severe racial injustice in this country.


I see posts captioned #AllLivesMatter. I wonder if when they use this hashtag, they realize that they lack an understanding of the meaning of the Black Lives Matter movement. I wonder if they realize that the movement isn’t saying all lives don’t matter, but rather it is calling attention to the fact society has made it seem as though black lives don’t matter, to the fact that black lives are being targeted and in constant danger.


I see people posting that the riots make the situation worse and violence is not the answer. I wonder if they realize that when they say that, it seems as though they value buildings and materials, more than the fight against black people getting pointlessly murdered. I wonder if they realize that it is not their place to be telling black people how they should react to a history of unrelenting oppression and countless deaths due to their skin color.


I see the video of Zianna Oliphant, a young black girl, crying while expressing her fear and frustration to the Charlotte City Council, with crying or broken heart emojis captioned on the post. I wonder if they realize their emojis and statements of shock and disapproval aren’t solidarity, because emojis cannot capture the magnitude of this situation, and are simply not enough. I wonder if they understand that their own feelings are not what is relevant right now.


I wonder, with every post and hashtag, if people are hopping onto a trend, so that they aren’t perceived as racist. Sure, the intentions behind these posts could be good, but it is never about the intention, and always about the impact. I question whether people are posting things because their friends are, or if they realize that each thing they post and give their opinion on has an impact. It seems as though some people are under the impression that reposting one thing on their social media automatically makes them an accomplice in the movement.


I have also seen multiple posts by self identified white progressive liberals demanding everyone follow Shaun King, as he has mind blowing things to share. As I went to his page, I grew increasingly curious about his work, and looked to the internet for answers. After looking for just a few minutes, I had read multiple headlines questioning King and his intentions. Many black activist groups view King as a “disingenuous opportunist and grifter prone to intellectual thievery—particularly from Black women—and a profiteer of Black trauma with a cult-like following that allows him to repeatedly start new business ventures and initiatives on a loop while collecting piles of money.” Another article referred to King as a “white liberal’s wet dream”. The article stated, “King’s social media presence offers up a particular space-- one that caters directly to the white ally who wants to prove their allyship through public digital and virtual performance, even and especially if they do not take any action to tangibly help black

people in the material world.”


This made me think. It seems as though white liberals are so desperate to express their outrage and heartbreak towards the injustices black people face on a daily basis that they willingly repost whatever things are trending, without necessarily doing any research on what exactly they’re supporting. This is not to say that everyone posting doesn’t know what they’re supporting, but it has seemed to me as I scroll through Instagram that more and more people are okay with jumping on the Instagram version of the antiracist train without educating themselves or truly trying to understand what is going on today and has been going on throughout the history of America.


Yet, despite all these concerns, there is an importance of posting things and using the platform one has as a white person. Staying silent is a privilege. The ability to have the choice to ignore what is going on right now is a privilege. Posting selfies and graduation pictures on social media right now is a privilege. In order to be an accomplice in this movement, one has to recognize that privilege and take action, but those two things do not mean reposting graphic videos on an account or stating disgust about what is happening. It does mean posting resources to educate ourselves and looking for ways we can take action. Words in this situation are simply not enough. One can use their words to express support and solidarity, but then those words must be followed up with actions. Posting and talking about racism is not the equivalent of actively being antiracist.


In the following weeks, months, and years, the intent behind these posts will become clear. While the stance you take during the most trying times is important, the stance you take after is even more important. It is imperative that these social media posts turn into dialogue with your family and peers. The liberal stance you take on social media must translate into the way you interact with and impact the black community. It can be difficult to feel like you’re saying and doing the right thing at all times, but the attempt to do so will result in either a valuable lesson or a positive impact on yourself and others.


I acknowledge that I am still learning how to best serve the black community as a white person. I also acknowledge that I will always be learning. I will continue to educate myself through literature and reliable media. I will sign more petitions and contact representatives. I will attend protests. I will speak up when I hear or see something targeting a person of color. I will remember the emotional things my black friends have posted recently. I will hold myself and others accountable.



155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page